Although August 8–10, 2014, is Texas’ Tax Free Weekend for clothing and footwear under $100, school supplies under $100, and backpacks under $100 for elementary and secondary students, a dealer may not advertise a “Tax Free Weekend” or any similar type advertising.
As a reminder, a motor vehicle dealer commits a Class C misdemeanor if advertising directly or indirectly, holding out, or stating to a customer that the dealership:
- Assumes, absorbs, or refunds a part of the motor vehicle sales tax;
- Will not add the motor vehicle sales tax to the sales price of the motor vehicle sold, leased, or rented.
(Texas Tax Code § 152.106)